1 year ago

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything on here, but today seemed like a good day for a post. Last year on this Monday (Nov 18), I was basically trapped in Michigan. We had been informed by my doctor that I was having a miscarriage, and I decided to let the process occur naturally. This could have taken anywhere from a few days to a month to begin, and after waiting 4 weeks, I decided to go home to have more emotional support; I also didn’t feel capable of taking care of Clara right then. Unfortunately, things didn’t go as planned and my 1 week trip got extended because I wasn’t able to travel. I thought that I was through the worst of miscarrying (after a full week), but after sending my parents to a church meeting that Monday evening, I soon discovered that I needed them to come back home. Clara sat in the bathroom with me very concerned because I kept losing blood. After lots of phone calls to Chris and doctors, I chose to go to the ER. When I arrived, I was still losing blood and my hemoglobin was very low. An ultrasound revealed that I finally had passed all of the tissue from my lost little baby, so a d&c was thankfully not necessary, but I was admitted to receive 2 units of blood however. It was amazing how much better I started to feel as my hemoglobin rose to a level that was only half of normal.

Through over a week of physical struggles, my parents took care of Clara, and Chris was anxiously working in LA. Once I was admitted, Chris got on the first flight to MI to come see me. Thankfully his chiefs and coresidents were very understanding! You’d think that the physical struggles were enough to focus on, but I also felt emotionally torn because I had planned a birthday party for Clara and her friend Ellie that weekend, and I wasn’t sure if we would make it back to LA by then. Thankfully Chris was able to fly into MI on Tuesday evening and get us ready for a Wednesday flight back to LA, roughly 16 hours after he arrived. We made it safely back to LA at 11:30pm, just 30 minutes before Clara turned 2. (This is important because last minute tickets are expensive, and 2 year olds require their own tickets.) I was totally useless on the day of traveling, but God helped us make it through. Chris spent the next 2 days preparing for Clara’s party and taking care of both of us.

I would have never made it through everything without hope that The Lord is in control and unending support from family. Although I had another less complicated miscarriage since then, I am so thankful to be spending this week home with Clara and Chris preparing for her 3rd birthday party and awaiting for the arrival of our little boy in January. I am sharing my story for a couple of reasons 1. Frankly so I remember it and I can see how The Lord pulled us through this really hard time and 2. So my friends and family who were not aware know that I’m hear to talk if they ever find themselves in a similar situation. Our Heavenly Father is in control of all situations, including the timing of expanding our families, and having really rough patches serves to remind us of this and renews our trust in him.

Thanks for listening.

2 thoughts on “1 year ago

  1. Thanks for sharinig Kathy! It amazes me after going through something like this, how others share their story and you find out that many have gone through the same process and your not alone. I just had a miscarraige about a month ago, and I had to expel the baby naturally also. It just gives me hope and reminds me to always TRUST in the Lord when you hear those positive stories, so thanks for sharing!

  2. Very nice Kathy. I am sure you have given hope to someone you might not even realized has gone through a similar experience losing a baby.

Leave a Reply

