Quinoa with caramelized onions and mushrooms with a spinach pesto

We are making an effort to cut extra sugar out of our diet currently, so I’m trying to be creative; I get bored with food easily! I knew I wanted to make quinoa today and wasn’t going to include meat, but that was all I knew. I found a small bag of dehydrated mushrooms at Trader Joes yesterday, and those seemed like a good addition. The rest of the ingredients were a last minute decision. I enjoyed this recipe, but it still has room for improvement. Please let me know if you try it and you have any ideas!

Quinoa with Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms with a Spinach Pesto

Ingredients:

    2 cups of water or your favorite broth (I used water from rehydrating my mushrooms)
    1 package of dehydrated mushrooms, rehydrated per package instructions and then sautéed or roughly 1 cup of sautéed fresh mushrooms of your choosing
    1 cup quinoa
    1 onion, sliced in thin, circular pieces
    1 Tbsp of olive oil
    1 Tbsp of butter
    2 cups of spinach
    1 clove of garlic
    1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil (I just guess on this amount!)
    Freshly grated Parmesan cheese
    Salt and pepper

20131229-202343.jpg

Directions:

1. In a medium pot, heat the 1 Tbsp of butter and olive oil. Once it is hot, add the onion and a dash of salt. Stir frequently, and cook until the onion is a nice caramelized brown color. Remove the pan from heat when the onion is caramelized.
2. While the onion caramelizes, bring your water or broth and quinoa to a boil and cook per package instructions.
3. I didn’t do this, but sautée your sliced mushrooms, whichever variety you choose to use. (My rehydrated mushrooms were too chewy, so cooking them next time will help.)
4. Finely chop the spinach in a food processor with the garlic. Once it is a desired size, add in your oil until a pesto consistency is reached. Mix in Parmesan, salt, and pepper to taste.
5. Add the mushrooms and pesto to the pot with the caramelized onion and heat on low.
6. Mix in roughly 3/4 of your prepared quinoa. (You could use it all, but this gave my desired ratio of quinoa to filling. I plan to add whole milk, blackberries, and cocoa to my remaining quinoa for breakfast tomorrow!)

This dish was substantial enough to stand alone for me, but it could also pair nicely with a steak or chicken breast and some bread! Add a piece of fruit for dessert, and you should be good to go!

Leave a Reply

