Easy, Non-Dairy Tomato Soup

Clara turned 2 on November 21st.  Her best friend Ellie turned 2 just 2 days before, so we had a wonderful double birthday party!  I will post some some pictures of that soon.  That ties into this post though, because we needed tomato soup for the party.  I planned to walk into Costco and find a few huge cans and call it good.  Unfortunately, they didn’t have tomato soup!  They did have giant cans of whole-peeled tomatoes for around $2.50 though.  I grabbed a few of those and hoped I could find a simple recipe.  This is the recipe I stumbled upon from finecooking.com.  I followed the recipe almost exactly, and it was a huge hit!  I quadrupled the recipe for the party, but I made it again today doubled.  I’ll give you the double version here.  It makes 16 servings, but soup freezes wonderfully and neighbors/new parents always appreciate the gift of a warm dinner.

 

Classic Tomato Soup

Ingredients: 

  • 4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 large white onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed (I just use the jar of minced garlic!)
  • 4 Tbsp flour
  • 6 cups low sodium chicken (or vegetable) broth
  • 56 ounces of pureed tomatoes (puree canned tomatoes including the juice)
  • 3 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp salt and pepper, plus more to taste

Directions:

  1. Puree canned, peeled tomatoes.  I dumped the whole giant can into a large bowl and pureed with an immersion blender.  I only used about half of the Costco can for this recipe.Image
  2. In a large pot, heat the oil and butter on medium-low heat, until the butter is melted.  
  3. Add the onion and garlic and cook for about 8 minutes- until the onion is soft.
  4. Add the flour and stir to coat.
  5. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a simmer over medium-high heat, stirring frequently.
  6. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer for 40 minutes.Image
  7. I allow the soup to cool slightly before pureeing it again.  You can use a food processor, blender, or immersion blender, but it’s best to puree carefully in a few batches.
  8. Enjoy the soup now, or later!  It pairs wonderfully with grilled cheese, toast, etc.  The soup can be served as is, or with sour cream, basil, or any of your favorite tomato soup toppings!
  • Finecooking.com suggests that it will keep in the fridge as long as you boil it every 2 days (I wouldn’t recommend this for more than a week), or in the freezer for up to 3 months.

I’ll add a picture of the finished product once we enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

