The Perfect Fall Meal Part 1: Crusty Bread

We took dinner to one of Chris’s chiefs this week who recently had a baby. Soup is always easy to make a lot of, and it freezes well if a new baby’s family doesn’t eat it right away, so it is my go to for new parents. I made my own recipe based on one I’d made last year, and it was a big hit. I also took a kale salad with homemade apricot dressing, and chocolate chip brownies from scratch. I’ll be posting all of the recipes (and another yummy dessert from this week) as time allows, but I decided to start with the bread from simply so good. It is a strange recipe, and mine is no where near as pretty as hers, but it tastes great! Next time I’ll try whole wheat.

Crusty Bread
ingredients:
3 cups all purpose flour
1 3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp instant yeast
1 1/2 cup water

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add the water and mix until a liquids dough forms. Cover with plastic wrap and leave overnight to rise.

Preheat the oven to 450. (She calls for a Dutch oven here, but I don’t have one. I use a pizza stone with a glass Pyrex bowl upside down for a lid. A cookie sheet works too, but the bread sticks more.) Once the oven is preheated, place the cooking container (Dutch oven or pizza stone and bowl) into the oven for 30 minutes. During this time, pour the dough onto a very heavily floured surface; it’s really sticky! Try to form a ball; I couldn’t but it was okay! Place plastic over the dough until the 30 minutes are up. Carefully place the dough inside your very hot cooking container, and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the lid and bake another 15 minutes. Cool on a wire rack, and enjoy!

I doubled the recipe.

20131010-144655.jpg

20131010-144730.jpg

Leave a Reply

