Total: 5. I can’t win with maxi skirts!

Here is my 5th project with my fabric district finds. The first maxi skirt I made, last year, I sewed the waistband with the stretch vertically, so I couldn’t get it over my butt. (I was trying to use only 1 yard of fabric.) I was also afraid of pins at that point, so the side stitches were funny. Needless to say, that one went to the trash.
My second attempt at a maxi skirt, today, is wearable but funny. It’s too big in the waist, but too tight in the hips. I also sewed the waistband on with the skirt inside out, so the pretty seam is inside the skirt. At least the waistband folds over and this can be hidden. Still a comfy article of clothing at least, and I’m continuing to learn!

20130906-231948.jpg

20130906-231953.jpg

20130906-231959.jpg

Leave a Reply

