Double Chocolate Cookies with Fresh Mint

I decided on Monday that it was a cookie week. Here are the reasons why: I haven’t taken dessert to community group for a while. We got new neighbors over the weekend. I have a potted mint plant that wants to take over the world. So what did I decide to make? Cookies that used fresh mint. I had one recipe that looked good, but the woman who wrote the post was French, so everything was in grams and difficult to follow. I did a quick Google search and found this recipe from Heather Christo. I’m thankful that I found her recipe for double chocolate cookies with fresh mint, as it just might be my new favorite cookie recipe. They were best right out of the oven, but they’re still very enjoyable a day later.

Image

Double Chocolate Cookies with Fresh Mint

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup room temperature butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 12-16 oz chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)
  • 1.5-2 cups fresh mint (I didn’t measure to be honest, but Heather Christo recommends 2 cups)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Cream together butter and sugars. This just means to mix them with your mixer (I only have a hand mixer) until they have a smooth and creamy texture.
  3. Add the vanilla and eggs (thanks Nicole for saving me and bringing eggs up!), and mix until smooth.
  4. Combine all of the dry ingredients (flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt) in a separate bowl.
  5. Carefully add them into your batter, mixing until well incorporated. I added the dry ingredients in two batches to minimize cocoa going everywhere.
  6. Finally, stir in the chocolate chips and mint.
  7. Place rounded tablespoons of batter on an ungreased cookie sheet. I got roughly 3 dozen cookies from the recipe.
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until the center of the cookies begin to look less doughy. This is more challenging than with normal cookies since they won’t become golden brown, but start with small batches and use trial and error if necessary!
  9. Cool on a wire rack.
  10. Pour a glass of milk, and enjoy a cookie or 2!

Image

Leave a Reply

