Arugula and Fig Salad

I had never eaten figs in my life, but we’ve come across them quite a bit over the last few years. It’s been an ongoing joke that I tell Chris I got him a treat, and he responds with, “Figs?” I saw them at Trader Joes this week, so I decided to make that joke a reality. I waited until the last minute to figure out what to do with them, and the Internet consensus seemed to be something with salty pork or a salad with arugula. Since ribs were already in the crock pot, I went with arugula salad.

Fig and Arugula Salad

ingredients:
10 Figs (I bought them at Trader Joes for $3.50ish and used half for the salad)
5 cups of arugula (1 Trader Joes bag)
1/4 cup Freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup Honey roasted sliced almonds (or pine nuts, other sliced almonds, walnuts, etc)
Equal parts balsamic vinegar and honey, I used 3 tbsp each

directions:
1. Wash the figs. Then remove the little stem and cut them into quarters.
2. Mix the figs, arugula, cheese, and almonds in a large bowl. The measurements are just estimates; use whatever ratio seems right to you!
3. Whisk together the vinegar and honey, and drizzle it over the salad when serving.

Enjoy! The salad went great with some BBQ ribs and cheesy garlic focaccia bread!

20130818-202832.jpg

20130818-202840.jpg

Leave a Reply

