Whole Wheat Banana Bread Mini-Muffins with Chocolate Chips

At one of my bridal showers (maybe both, it’s been 6.5 years) guests brought their favorite recipes written on an index card. I have to admit that I haven’t made most of them, but some of them have definitely become staples. One such recipe is the banana bread recipe my sister-in-law Kelly gave me. I think that she originally got it from my mom. Regardless of where the recipe started, it turns out well every time, and it is easy to make different variations of the basic recipe. This is my newest variation.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread Mini-Muffins with Chocolate Chips

Makes 48 mini-muffins.

Ingredients:
1 cup, or desired amount, of semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
3-4 large bananas (I freeze bananas whole as they are going bad. When I want banana bread, I take them out an hour before I bake, then peel and add them to the recipe. Peeling them before freezing and putting in a ziplock bag would be easier on the baking end, but more work on the freezing end.)

20130730-153937.jpg

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together all ingredients except chocolate chips. Stir in chocolate chips. Bake in greased mini-muffin tins, filled 3/4 full, for roughly 10-12 minutes – until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean or covered only in melty chocolate!

Leave a Reply

