Beet Pancakes

Until a few months ago, I have never eaten and enjoyed a beet in my life.  This summer, I’m trying to change that.  A while back I saw a recipe for beet pancakes from Weelicious.  I thought about making the pancakes from canned beets, but noticed that they had almost no nutritional value.  I wasn’t about to make myself eat beets if they weren’t even good for me, so I put the recipe into my mental queue!  Finally, when we got our co-op box a while ago, it contained beets and I knew what I had to do with them.  My pictures are no where near as good as the ones from Weelicious, but the pancakes were delicious and worth repeating!

Beet Pancakes

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon  salt
  • 2 medium beets, roasted & pureed (about 3/4 cups)
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. The first task is to roast the beets.  I started by cutting the ends off of the beets and peeling them.  Then I cut them into roughly 1/2 inch cubes.  Next, I tossed them in a little olive oil and roasted them on a cookie sheet at 375 degrees until they were tender.  This probably took about 30 minutes.
  2. Once the beets had cooled, I pureed them in my Baby Bullet, adding water until it was a nice texture.  I strained the puree through a small strainer so that it was smooth.
  3. Now it’s time to start making pancakes!  Sift the first 5 ingredients into a bowl.
  4. Place the wet ingredients (everything else) in a separate bowl and whisk thoroughly to combine.
  5. Add the dry ingredients into the wet and stir until just combined.
  6. Drop about 2 tbsp of the pancake mixture onto a greased griddle pan that is heated over medium heat.  Cook for roughly 3 minutes on each side, flipping when the top of the pancake looks bubbly.
  7. Serve with syrup or accompaniments of your choice.  I made a cream cheese glaze which was good, although mine was lumpy.  I didn’t use a recipe, but this one looks like a safe bet!  (I’d probably add extra milk to make it thin and easily drizzled on.)

Image

I hope you have as much fun incorporating random vegetables into you life as I do!

Leave a Reply

